Time to face the fact…

It’s time that I face the fact that I’m going to have to break out the rollers or the trainer. I’ve been sitting here for a week now looking at a freshly built bike and basically all it’s done in the time is sleet… or I’m working when it’s nice out. Naturally!

Something many people know about me is that I HATE riding in rain. It’s odd because I’ll run and do so many other things in the stuff but it drives me nuts to ride in the rain. Maybe too many MS-150’s spent pedaling all day in the rain being cold or too many years battling mountain bikers and horse riders that tear up trail by riding in the rain. I don’t really know what it is. It’s just a fact.

Kera made this sweet new bag for herself. She’s been debating for ages as to what to make. Glad she, finally, did it as I happen to think that it’s her best yet. We’re tossing about ideas for a new, bigger one for me. Granted, I love my Green one (a little of which is in the pic) but I often carry so many teaching supplies or clothes to the gym, etc. That way, maybe I an part with the “Nicaraguan Baby Carrier” as Cotter calls it (big Chrome bag that I’ve had for years).

Anyway, she’ll post more pics on her Flickr site when she gets home, I’m sure.

We are off to Vietnam in 11 days. Wow! Until I wrote that it didn’t hit me how close it is. Cool! I’m taking running stuff with me becasue in 3.5 weeks I’ll go insane if I don’t exercise a few times a week. I experienced it last year when we went to the States and worse when we were in Egypt. ‘Sides, I might get to see some really interesting things along the way.

I’m off to go buy buttons for the cool Bayerisher (Bavarian) sweater vest the Kera knitted me. Then school till late tonight.

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories life, TrainingTags, , , , , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Time to face the fact…”

  1. Yeah rain sucks….but it depends where you are at. I did two doubles in California in warm rain – got soaked head to toe and it didn’t bother me one bit. But in Missouri when it rains it’s usually cold, icy, and damn near death inducing. Same here in NM.

    Vietnam, eh? Living the good life you two…..

  2. I hate riding in the rain too. It’s the soggy shorts and wet feet that get me when I’m riding in warm rain. It’s no fun sitting on a sponge. The cold rain just makes it worse…

    Awesome new bag, Kera!

Leave a Reply

