Well….it’s almost a wrap.

You might know that after 3.5 weeks of attempting to access my blog, I find a place where I’m able, the day before we leave for home.

Oh well. Definitely worse things than that can happen.

 In short, I’ll write about the whole trip when I get home and after posting pics over on Flickr.

 However, I can say that we’ve had a fantastic trip and having an extra day here in Hanoi to goof off is probably a good way to end a trip. It’s a bit like bookends for our vacation, actually.

If any of you folks ever manage to make it to this side of the planet, whatever you do, don’t miss the amazing mountain village of Sapa. It’s been, by far, the highlight of the whole trip. Well, add to that the wonderous Phuoung (our tourguide). He’s endured the terror of an incredibly diverse crew of miscreants the likes of which he’ll probably not soon forget.

 I’ll expound on the previous comment about not being able to access my blog. I seem to remember a report of NPR a couple of years back about many Southeast Asian countries not allowing access to blogs from the outside world. That seems to be true as I’ve not been able to access mine or anyone elses blogs from anywhere in the country until I found this little internet cafe here in Hanoi.

 Kera is back at the hotel attempting to rest up and recover from a cold that she caught a few days back. It’s been getting progressively worse. Luckily for us she got it on the end of the trip, not the beginning.

 O.K., to end this, we’re very well, very happy and ready to head off toward Munich tomorrow morning. We’re looking at heading toward South America as our next big trip in maybe 2 years or so. Who knows. It’d be great to do a couple weeks of hiking and camping in the mountains of Peru, Chile or Bolivia. We’re both ready to do a bit less riding in buses, trains and walking in cities and headout on a bit more of an adventure.

 We hope that everyone is well and we’ll see you folks in Munich in a few days.

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories life, travelTags, , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Well….it’s almost a wrap.”

Leave a Reply

