Happy Leap Day!

Ah… the most revered day 29 Feb. is upon us and what wonderful quip do I have for you? Nuttin’. Just wanted to say Happy Leap Day! as I don’t get to do it very often.

Kera’s off doing her work/snow shoe trip but comes home this afternoon. Tonight, we go say goodbye to the director of the school that I do most of my work for. She’s Irish and is moving back home to Ireland because her German husband got a good job there. What’s  interesting about this is that she’s having a lot of the same feelings that I have when I think about moving back to the States.

For example, even though there are a few things about the German system and people that irk me, there are far more about the American system and way of life that get under my skin. Kera and I live in a foreign land and we’ll ALWAYS be foreigners here, there’s nothing that we can do about that….short of giving up our U.S. passports which won’t happen.

However, when we were last in the States, I realized that I just don’t really feel comfortable there. I’ve gotten used to using my bike and the subway for transport. Getting in a car EVERYTIME that you go somewhere really started to bother me. Also, I like going to the grocery store or the bakery daily. It’s just part of my life now. It’s something that I don’t want to change and I can’t think of a place that we can have those things and still have easy access to mountains like the Alps on the weekends.

Basically, I guess that I’m saying I’m a foreigner where I live and I felt like a foreigner in my own land. Maybe that will never change, who knows for sure?

In less dour news. I got a decent run in yesterday. I didn’t have time between classes to get in a ride, so running gives me the right to have a bumper sticker that says “my other bike is a pair of running shoes”.

We didn’t get in to the Kulsheim 12 hour race as we missed the cut-off date. I sent an email inquiring as  to why and they responded saying that last year someone almost took them to court over an email over same. Crazy! So, I’m on the hunt for a race to replace it that is 12 or 24 hours with something in the range of 10 mile or more laps. Most 12 & 24 hour races here use 5-8 km length laps. That means that a winning solo or team will do 99-200 laps.

To me, anything shorter than an hour lap begins to get tedious after about 6 or 7 rounds.

O.K., I’ve got to get headed to school. It’s raining like crazy today but it’s been mostly beautiful the last few days, so we’re lucky.

Taken on a ride the other day. Look familiar?

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories lifeTags, , , , , , 5 Comments

5 thoughts on “Happy Leap Day!”

  1. It’s just cool that you and Kera have found “home.” That is the important part! 🙂

    BTW, forgot to tell you, nice taste in blog theme. 😉

  2. I often think I’d like to live abroad and have spent quite a bit of time overseas but when I think about having to give up the Utah mountainbiking I realize I’ve found home. Maybe I need to spend more time mountain biking next time I travel.

  3. I’m right with you about the “American” way of life. Our way of life got a lot better getting out of KC!! There are some issues with a smaller town but I don’t have a problem with them. And the biking and proximity to outdoors stuff from Grand Junction is amazing!! But you make the German way of life sound pretty darn good.

Leave a Reply

