Decisions galore

I took the above pic of myself (gotta love timers) riding close to home the other day. It’s roughly 10-15′ down from the top of this. This was a really frustrating day for me for many reasons, so I ‘attacked’ the trail like an enemy. It felt good to work off all that anger and frustration. Things are quite a bit better now.

________________

It’s the middle of the week and I’m getting ready to take off to teach a class and then go get the next tattoo at least started. The design is a surprise, of sorts. I’ll wait till it’s done to post picks of it (unless we only do part tonight), then I’ll post what gets finished.

Other decisions to be made, the most important one at this point is whether to run singlespeed, 9 speed or 27 speed at Garda in about 4 weeks. I’d really like to ride the Black Sheep as it’s the bike that I’d expected to have for the race last year and it’s light and handles really well.

My major hang-up is whether to hang derailluers on it and maybe put the Reba back on for  Garda. I can’t get last years first climb out of my mind (something like 500 meters in not too long of a run). In short… UGH! The other thing that I think of is the first year that I did it on a singlespeed. It took me just over three hours to complete the first climb. Do I really want to repeat that?

Lastly, I’d really like to do the long course and I’m guessing that I won’t be fast enough without gears to make the time cut-off (especially if there’s a bike traffic jam again this year). That thought alone might help make my decision.

Other things on my tiny brain slate:

Where are we staying for SS World’s in Napa?

Where are we staying for Garda (this might need to be first)?

Am I getting enough training in to do well this year?

When will I get the resume/CV in for the job my buddy Clark told me about?

There’s more….. I told you it was a small slate.

Ah… should I do the City Race going on in town in two weeks? My thought is yes as it will help me gauge whether or not I’m going to die at Garda or not.

Last but not least, thanks a lot to my in-laws for taking possession of the crazy amount of stuff that we had in storage. We appreciate it very much. Thanks!

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories lifeTags, , , , , , , 7 Comments

7 thoughts on “Decisions galore”

  1. as I sit on my sofa my biggest decision: do I really need a 2nd bag of popcorn..I decide no bc I am too lazy to get up..You my friend make me feel slack..Keep it up so I’ll get off my ass
    xoxo

  2. I took almost the same pic of that bridge-thing. No one crossing it, since I am destined to ride alone for ever and always.

  3. I’ve been faced with the same decisions and have come up with a cut off for rigid. If the race or ride will last longer than 10 hours, I’ll ride with the reba. The course looks climby, although I couldn’t see the profile up close. The only time ss slows you down are the flat or slighly down grades. My choice would be an easy ss gear. Some where in the 42-46 gear inch range. What ever you decide … good luck.

Leave a Reply

