Before the weekend

A week ago today, I went for a ride with a couple of new ‘friends’. I’d previously met Axel when I spotted his beautiful Bontrager Road bike sitting at a beer garden south of München. Matthias and I went over and drewled on this thing of beauty. Afterwards, we looked at the beer garden crowd trying to gauge whom it must belong to. I picked the solo guy with the Sock Guy socks. If I remember correctly, I was right.

The Sock Guy….er, guy, finished his meal, got on his bike, rolled over to our bikes and did a once over then rolled over to us and struck up a conversation. We talked about Retrotecs (he has a Ti one with a Rohloff rear hub), Independent Fabrications (he has a couple, I think), Phil Wood bikes amongst others. I quickly figured out that Axel was probably an even more avid “bike geek” than even I.

A couple of weeks ago I received a message from a friend of Axels that he wanted to go for a ride and check out my Black Sheep. Somehow, we arranged to meet and he brought along two of his bikes (a Phil Wood Piss-off titanium singlespeed 29’er and a Serrota Ti 29’er) and one of his friends Tommaso. Someone had to ride the other bike. It was Tommaso’s first 29’er experience but definitely not his first riding experience (he mentioned that he used to do a lot of hill climb UCI type events (think… fast).

Anyway, we did about 45 km in total then went and had coffee and a snack at our local Bistro Bissone (very, very Italian). It was fun listening to Tommaso banter with the waiter in Italian. We chatted about this and that and decided that we’d definitely have to repeat this in the future.

In other news… we joined a car sharing group so that means that we should have a car when/if we need it and not have to pay too much to own a car for awhile.

Our friend Justine, whom we met on our Egypt trip, came to visit last week. It was really good to see her. We went down to Neuschwanstein on Sunday and then she and I wandered around town one day and went to see Hayseed Dixie. Kera, unfortunately, had to go out of town on business for most of the time that Justine was here. More pics here.

Lastly, I think that I’m going to do the City Bike Marathon race on Sunday if for no other reason than to figure out how bad of shape that I’m in. Maybe it’ll work as a good training race for Garda coming up in 3 short… very short weeks.

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories life, München/Munich, mountain bike, racingTags, , , , 4 Comments

4 thoughts on “Before the weekend”

  1. Rohollf hubs are too cool. A friend and I have been toying around with the idea of getting a hub. We just can’t figure out what would be the best bike for our little project. Any suggestions?
    ct

  2. They’re pretty great except for the crazy cost. You’ll need a bike with some sort of sliding dropout or you have to use their version of a singlator. Hmmmm, a Karate Monkey or a horizontal drop-out type bike is probably best. Good luck. Oh.. congrats on the recent project coverage on Ruhmlos and the K.C. mag.

  3. I have spoken to Axel a few times via email, super nice guy, has his priorities in order??? The guy has like nearly 30 bikes, and we are not talking your run of the mill, each is a real work, don’t think he lives w/ a woman… On the Rohollf, most of the companies I have seen over here use an eccentric bb, but sliders can work as well. How about a nice new IF 29’er?

Leave a Reply

