Not feeling too well….but Christmas and ’09 are closing in

Haven’t felt too well the last couple of days. I’ve had a lot of muscle pain in my shoulder and I’ve got a lot of cold-like symptoms. Well, everything but the cold. Weird. Kera had very similar symptoms last week. She’s feeling much better now, hopefully, I will as quickly as well.

I’ve been running a lot lately, in part because I often have only so much time in between classes and it’s dark until almost 8:00 a.m. and is dark again by slightly after 4:00 p.m./16:00. Therefore, I can at least get a run in while it’s daylight. Anyway, I’ve attempted a couple of times lately to go for a ride. The first time I had a flat within five minutes of leaving the apartment. That one was due to failed “Ghetto” tubeless that I’ve been attempting on my Black Sheep. The next ride attempt ended up with me walking over 1.5 hours back home in the dark when I had a front flat on the “Bastard Cross” and didn’t have the necessary equipment to repair it. Trust me….that SUCKED!

On Saturday, I managed to get out late in the afternoon for the first successful ride in almost two months. It felt really good to be out of the singlespeed. However, I realized just how pitiful of shape that I’m currently in when it comes to cycling. My running fitness is pretty o.k. outside of some shin-splints but my cycling fitness is beyond piss-poor. Hopefully, now that the days will start to get longer I can get out more often, even at night. We’re also going to attempt to get out this weekend and look at potential new gyms in the area. We’re thinking that regular workouts will help both of our moods.

On the same ride, I managed to lose a part of one of my winter shoes. It sucks as it’s often very difficult to get parts here. That thin there in the photo is supposed to have a top on it and a screw in the middle. It tightens up the whole shoe evenly. Well, it did, till I lost the part. In theory, I have replacement parts coming from Switzerland though. Hopefully, it won’t take too long before they arrive.

We did get some new toys though….. My new snowshoes arrived today. Baby-cat seems to think that she’d like to go out in the snow with us as well. These are the Atlas 1030’s for me and the Women’s Electra 10 Series for Kera as well. Nice stuff. Hers is the White pair and mine is the one absconded by the cat. We’ve already got a good snowshoe tour book and most of the resources for going out and having a great day in the snow. Hopefully, Kera’s will arrive in the next day or so and we’ll manage to get out to the mountains this weekend for our first test-run. If we don’t manage to get out on Saturday, which might be the case if we get caught up in looking at gyms. In that case we’ll go out on Sunday. Either way…. I’m really looking forward to it.

Kera’s been knitting up a storm (can’t show you pics for a few reasons) and the creativity bug has now infected me. I made the above belt from one of Kera’s old mountain bike tires. I’ve got a few ideas to make some other interesting things (if you’re a cyclist) but I’ve yet to create them.

Lastly, I’ve added another page to the blog with probable/possible events for ’09.

Ciao till Christmas.

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories 29'er, cycling, Home, life, sewing13 Comments

13 thoughts on “Not feeling too well….but Christmas and ’09 are closing in”

  1. Sorry to hear that you guys have been feeling under the weather.

    I like the belt. I’ve seen belts made out of road tires before but that’s the first time i’ve seen one made from a mtn tire. The buckle looks cool too.

  2. Michael,

    Way cool belt! I gotta get me one of those made up. What is the backing around the cassette ring buckle?

  3. Just a note….Been looking over your pics…especially of mountains and such…..Do you realize how beautiful of a part of the world you live in ?…I guess you do because your taking those pics……very few people will ever get the chance to see what you are seeing…Thank-You for sharing those with everyone..Just makes me want to travel more ..but know I would never have the chance to see all of the things you see because of your extreme adventures….
    Just want to Thank-You again…and please keep sharing all of those GREAT pics….and keep in touch.
    Tony G.

    P.S. Germany is now at the top of my list. Maybe the Tour Board came give you a cut. :>)

  4. Yes…we do realize what a beautiful part of the world that we live in. Especially on the mornings or evenings when it’s clear enough to see the mountains from our balcony. It’s a big part of why we bought the place that we did. I’ll be happy to keep sharing too.

  5. Great to see you are doing well and glad you keep us all posted with your updates. Merry Christmas to you and Kera. Steve Denger

  6. Bummer on the tubeless – did you ever get it right? I’ve had great luck at it. I also just picked up a set of the Mavic 29er UST wheels and am liking that. Almost as light as the AC 29er set with rim strip but of course much simpler.

    Cool cat….gray tabbys are mischievous.

  7. Jeni…the belts are fun to make and it’s a new project of mine (borrowed from the web). I have a couple of other ideas to go along with it. We’ll see how those turn out.

    Oh…feeling mostly better. Neck and shoulder stiffness is still there but the sinus thing is mostly gone.

Leave a Reply

