Weekend past

Thanks to all my moms!
Thanks to all my moms!
The FIRST thing. I’m a shit when it comes to being a son. I completely overlooked the fact that it was Mother’s Day due to the bike show, etc. I just want to say I’m sorry and a BELATED HAPPY MOTHERS DAY to my step-mother Cherie, my other step-ish mom Vivian and my mother-in-law Dee. You’re all great and I’m sorry I missed it.
Drop bar beauty
Drop bar beauty
Grey in color only
Grey in color only
Lovely!
Lovely!

Last weekend didn’t turn out to be our most active weekend ever but we did manage to get a pretty good road ride in on Saturday and then we did a bit of shopping and following that a birthday party for our friend Christian Borst. The ride was about 70 km and had a few hills along with a mid-ride stop for a snack. The party was fun as we got to meet some of Borsts friends from college and the rest of his family. It was his 30th so everyone wanted to come celebrate with him. Yes, we hang out with people that I could be their parent from time-to-time.

Sunday, we got up early and headed off with another Christian in tow to  the European Handmade Bicycle Expo in Schwabisch Gmünd. This was the first EHBE ever and from all indications, it was a resonding success. The list of wonderful builders is long. Click this link if you’re interested.

I know that I’ll miss some but a few standouts for me were.

Crisp Titanium (a sponsor of BWR Europe and possibly the builder of my next mountain bike)

Julie Racing Design

Le Cadre

Daily Bread

Independent Fabrications

Not a bike maker but great to see there just the same were also our friends at

Biciclista.it

I got the above jersey and Stefano is doing our European BWR uniforms as well. Kera got the Chicken jersey as well.

Also our buddy Jelle who runs

singlespeed.nl

Here’s the link to my pics from the event. Also, click here for the EHBE 2009 group on Flickr.

In other news… I turned another year older on the 13th of May. I’m now an aging 47 years old. Ugh!

My loving wife got me two great bottles of Scotch, A great wool jersey/hoodie from EWB and Indy Fab. She also gave me a great Icebreaker wool t-shirt and a pair of wool underwear. They’re Merino wool which feels great to me.

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories cycling, friends, Germany, life, travelTags, , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Weekend past”

  1. I missed your birthday?!? How the heck did that happen? It’s the same day as my brother’s birthday. I shouldn’t forget that again. Happy Belated Birthday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

