It’s been ages… or literally months…

Sorry friendly readers… I/we aren’t dead and didn’t fall off the face of the planet. I just haven’t really had much to tell other than the million things running through the gourd on top of my shoulders. Normally, it just spews from my mouth (often without a filter) and you take it in or don’t. As you can decide whether to read this or not, I realize that you don’t really care about my every waking thought or whim. Thus, I’ll shorten this to the Readers Digest (are they still in business) version.

Kera on the Salt Flats
Us... hanging out on the Salt Flats of Bolivia
Us... hanging out on the Salt Flats of Bolivia
Kera helped a couple of these ladies by buying lots of yarn
Machu Picchu before the landslides
My guinea pig dinner. Fit for a King!

First… Kera and I hit Peru, Bolivia & a very small slice of Chile (maybe our next big vacation). We had a great time, saw amazingly beautiful things, met some really cool people and discovered a place that we didn’t have any idea was so cool and beautiful. If… when we go back, we’ve decided that to make the trip all it could be, we need to know a reasonable amount of Spanish so it might be a couple of years before we can swing that.

We seemingly preceeded a number of natural disasters as we travelled. First, El Nino has hit South America hard this year and it’s to blame for a lot of things. However, we were in and out of Macchu Pichu just before the landslides and then we left Santiago just a few days before the earthquake that rocked the city. Are we bad luck? Maybe you shouldn’t answer that.

Our tour guide Shirley was awesome! She took care of our little group like a mother. She really tried to help us have the best time possible and answered our every question. Our co-travelers were a very diverse group from Ireland, Korea & Canada. We really enjoyed meeting all of them and they all really added to the enjoyment of the trip as well. We hope to see all of them at some point in the future.

Peru photos click here

Bolivia photos click here

Kera took some beautiful shots that are still yet to be posted and there are some great ones from Chile yet to be posted as well. I’ll update the links as soon as I do it.

Cheese! Don't get bugs in your teeth.

Kera has been working like a slave lately. The last few months she’s been in either or both Zürich or London seemingly once a week. As I write this, she’s in the U.S. on business which was preceded by a few weeks in Australia. She also has to go to Canada and may have to head back south of the Equator before she lands back on European soil. Her business trip might be as short as a month and as long as 1.5 months. That’s the longest, by far, that we’ve been apart in almost 6 years together. Weird… we’ll have been married 5 years this year. Hmmm!

My job is going pretty well. The trainers/teachers that I work with are a really diverse and interesting group of people. Most have travelled the world, done things that many people only dream of and make me jealous on a regular basis in those terms. The people that I teach also teach me many different things about finance, banking, Real Estate, IT, fund & asset management and so much more. I work hard, like the people that I work with but really, really wish that I got paid significantly more money. For the amount of stress and number of decisions that I am asked to make daily, I feel like I’m way undervalued. For the most part, I can’t complain about too much more though. Our office is on Viktualienmarkt (the big fruit & veggie market next to Marienplatz) and I get to get out of the office for lunch daily.

I did my first race of the year yesterday. Last year when I did the City Bike Marathon I believe that I mentioned that I would probably never do it on a singlespeed again. Well, it seems that I’m now a liar! Sorry gang… guess it was only a matter of time. I debated all last week; gears…. singlespeed…. gears….. singlespeed. In the end, my love toward singlespeeding won out. I finished 125th overall but I believe that I was the first place singlespeeder! Woohoo! I suppose that since there were 1500 people in the “race” my placing isn’t too shabby. I’ll post pics as soon as they are available. A few more pics of me here.

I’m about to finish building a really nice set of wheels to ride and race. They are White Indus. M16 hubs laced to FRM/Bor XMD 388 rims. They’ll be tubeless and light. Zoom!

That’s it  for now. Tschüss!

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories 29'er, cycling, friends, Germany, Home, life, München/Munich, mountain bike, MTB, racing, Singlespeed, travelTags, , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “It’s been ages… or literally months…”

Leave a Reply

