Victory goes to the Alps – Mountains 1 : Cleveland 0

Getting stuff ready for my adventure
New S-Works helmet & shoes... thanks Specialized!!

On Saturday evening I took Kera to the airport for another trip to Australia for work.  When I returned, I put together the last few things I needed for my trip to Mittenwald to ride the route for the Karwendel Marathon next weekend. The one thing that I needed and didn’t have was a good map. Sadly, that small mistake cost me a good long ride for the day. Instead, it turned out to be a lot of steep elevation and a lot of frustration.

Typical views of the day

Even though I normally like to finish what I start (stubborn… I’m a Taurus & a Cleveland after all); I also know that I can’t always get what I want. Thus, after being tired and frustrated as well as alone and somewhat chilly, on top of a mountain with with what looked like storm clouds rolling in, I thought that discretion being the better part of valor, I should find a way down before things got ugly.  As it turned out, I hit the car just about the time that it started raining.

As the local bike shop is part of the Train Station, it was open and I was able to buy a map for the next time that I head down to Mittenwald. Laws in Germany in regards to being open on Sunday allow businesses in Tourism, Flower Shops (cemetery duty), the odd drug store and businesses based in the local train station or airport to sell things.

The beautiful area around Ferchensee
Some really, really bad grammar
A really beautiful view of the valley
Ah..... Bayern (Bavaria). How can you not love it?

I might be back down here next weekend for the official marathon because what I saw of the route looks to be pretty damn cool!

….and last but not least… a belated Mother’s Day 2010 to my many mothers. Honestly, I thought that it was next week so cards will be a bit late.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!!

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY!!!
Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories 29'er, cycling, Germany, life, mountain bike, MTB, Singlespeed, Training, travelLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

