WTF?

Those of you that know me also know that I’m cynical, sarcastic and a full-time smart ass. Somehow, my loving wife finds this endearing. Lucky me!

In spite of these disabilities (my maladies not the love of my wife) there’s a couple of things that people here in Germany (doesn’t seem to happen other places) do that completely befuddle me. At the top of this list is the helmet over the handlebar habit. For some unknown reason, more often than not, you’ll see people riding along with their helmets securely clasped to their stem and handlebars. Who knew that handlebars and stems needed the protection?

Check out this video… at about 35 seconds, you’ll see what I’m talking about.

My opinion…. if you’re going to bother taking it off of the shelf…. WEAR THE DAMN THING!!! I actually understand not wearing a helmet far more than I do taking it along for a ride and not wearing it.

Breath Cleveland… breath. Ahhhhhh, need to relax now.

So, Kera and I have figured out what our next brief adventure after next weeks will be.

Does it get more beautiful than this?
Of rocks and huts
One of the places we would stay

The Dachsteinwanderweg… it’s theoretically an 8 day hike around the Dachstein (where Reinhold Messner got his start) with our nights spent in mountain top huts. I’m looking forward to it…. a lot!

Lap just before sunrise

This coming weekends and next weeks adventures start Finale Ligure at the 24 Hours of Finale (pics from last year) in Finale Ligure, Italy site of one of my all time favorite 24 hour races. Part of it is that we get to see many of our European friends and because of the amazing views from the course.  The course it self is also great. After the race we aren’t sure where we’re going. Could be Arels, France back to the site of one of our favorite meals ever (when we met many of said friends) or St. Moritz, Switzerland. We’ll decide as we go.

Last thing… really cool video from Iceland of the volcano.

Iceland, Eyjafjallajökull – May 1st and 2nd, 2010 from Sean Stiegemeier on Vimeo.

One thought on “WTF?”

  1. I am so ready for SiS. All I need to know is, how much beer should I bring? And what about Depends? Adult diapers are recommended for this, right?

Leave a Reply

