End of a crazy year…looking forward to 2011

 

Symbolic of new horizons for 2011.

 

Well, I’m continuing to fail at my attempt to keep my blog up to date with at least one post per month. Would love to shoot for one a week but we’ll take twelve over fifty-two and see where that goes first.

In any case. I just wanted to take a bit of your time and mine to point out a few things about 2010 (both good and bad) as well as a few hopes for 2011.

From beginning to end as best as I can remember.

1st Quarter of the year….

Kera having fun... Antman is somewhere else.

Had a great visit from our buddy Anthony where we had a bit of outdoor fun.

Kera in the worlds largest salt lake.

We went to South America, had a great time and managed to precede any of the many disasters there. An amazing place that we’d both like to revisit some day (maybe starting in Chile and heading south from there).

Only back a week or so and then Kera was off traveling for most of a couple of months. It was interesting being alone that much after being together so much for our first 5+ years together. Yes, we definitely missed each other but we survived.

2nd Quarter –

Work, work, work….. for both of us.

Me racing in München

Did the München City Bike Marathon per each year…. singlespeeded a 95 km course and enjoyed almost every bit of it.

Me racing in Finale Ligure, Italy
Kera and I in the Italian part of Switzerland

 

Off to Finale Ligure for the 24 Hour race and then a week of vacation in Italy and Switzerland. Who knew that in parts of Switzerland they don’t speak German?

Also, broke my first frame of the year at Finale.

Went in and added yet another bit of tattoo work to my small but growing collection.

3rd Quarter –

Mother-in-laws jump in Austria

Went for an amazing week long hut-to-hut hiking trip around Dachstein in Austria. We’ll be doing a lot more in 2011.


Avoided death and paralysis when my bike broke in two and I smashed my face into the ground while racing. Spent the next 6+ weeks in the hospital and then recuperating at home. Really glad to be in an amazing German hospital.

Kera… continued to work, work and work.

While recuperating I started to take on some of the hat construction that Kera had previously done on her own (outside of color combo recommendations from me).

After constant prodding from many friends we went to SiS (Schlaflos im Sattel) which is a yearly destination. I was awarded the #1 number plate for life and a lifetime entry.

Discovered that in spite of my sarcasm and cynicism I have an amazing group of family & friends in the U.S., here in Europe and other places worldwide.

4th Quarter –

The new Indy Fab

Received my new Independent Fabrications Ti Deluxe 29’er and started riding again.

Switched from my old job to full-time teacher trainer within the same company for many reasons.

Kera received her Niederlassungserlaubnis (a long word for Permanent Residency) and I received the ability to work anywhere doing anything I want.

Back to working a lot for both of us. Sadly, that means that working out and riding suffered also (tends to make me REALLY grumpy as a side-effect).

Two new Mexican restaurants (Wahaka & Milagros) opened in München which help fill a HUGE void in our dietary needs. Believe it or not… they are both REALLY great!

Our new (to us) car

We bought our first car in Europe. Freedom….FINALLY!

Went snowshoeing a couple of times in the large amounts of snow that we received in December (record amounts, by the way).

Had a great Christmas seeing friends before and after as well as hanging out with Kera for both Christmas and New Years.

Now… on to 2011.

Plans and wishes

London (my first trip) this coming week.

Much more hiking

Much more cycling and at least working out in preparation for 2012 (planning to do a HUGE race for my 50th)

Much more sewing and creation

Maybe starting a couple of small companies (depends on how the German government takes it). Only time will tell.

Ireland for Single Speed World Championships 2011

Possibility of us moving out to the country, closer to the mountains, at some point if we can work out Keras commute situation (again…super tentative and a big wish).

Kera is going to do a fair amount of traveling in the first quarter again.

….Some other things up our sleeves too.

The main plan is for us to stay healthy and happy.

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks http://www.spokwerks.com I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories Germany, Home, life, sewing, Singlespeed, Training, travelTags, , , , , , , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “End of a crazy year…looking forward to 2011”

  1. You two had an awesome year (minus the face plant, of course). It’s so cool to follow your activities and see how much you enjoy life and each other. Happy New Year to both of you!

  2. It’s funny that you mentioned the Mexican restaurants. Every time me and my wife watch an episode of House Hunters International I tell her that we should move to Europe and open a real Tex-Mex place. You’ve got me thinking.

  3. Happy New Year! If you’re in London and want to see some riding in the Surrey Hills (just south of London) I can show you some trails. Then again, there are much classier riders than me to ride with, I’m a bit crap.

Leave a Reply

