Finding a home

The backyard outside our new place. We’re in the bottom and the middle upper.

Well, it’s for a good reason. As was previously mentioned, we’re moving to the Zurich area. The last weekend of January Kera and I went to Zurich with the intension of trying to find a place to live and to start the process of Anmeldung (registration… yes, everyone has to do it… everytime you move) which will then lead to a year-long residence and work permit for Kera. I haven’t begun to look for work. That’ll have to wait a few weeks until things start finding a place in our new home (rented… very normal in Europe).

We drove down on Thursday morning to see our temporary apartment in the middle of Zurich. It’s basically a glorified motel room but the location is fantastic! There’s a subway station right outside the front door that takes Kera directly to her office in Adliswil. Thursday afternoon we got Kera registered (mine was delayed because they didn’t think our Marriage Certificate was official enough), set up a bank account and took our eye tests for our Swiss Drivers licenses.

Planned for Friday were viewings of seven different apartments/houses. The viewings were arranged pretty much in order of what our preference. Thus, the first one we saw, was the one we wanted most and the one we ended up renting. It’s a Landlords market in the area around Zurich in that, typically, many people vy for the same location and it’s an interview situation. If the people showing you the apartment don’t like you, the application paperwork won’t even land in your hands.

I’ll take you on a quick tour of the house which is in a town called Mettmenstetten

and you thought there were no unicorns

The Mettmenstetten city crest
Our front door (preceded by a entryway) and door to the guest bathroom on the right.
This our dining area where our big table will sit next to the Kochelofen with a built-in pizza oven. Yes!
Kitchen shot No. 1 – The black thing in the middle is the refrigerator and on the left is the stove. The doorway leads to a laundry room/pantry area. This makes Kera very happy.
Kitchen view No. 2 – It’s quite bright with very modern appliances and lots of storage.
One of our two outside seating areas. From the built-in table you get an amazing view of the Alps and we can also listen to the fountain and/or have a fire in the fireplace.
Our living room with the Kochelofen and a fireplace. If you don’t know what a Kochelofen is; it’s an oven used for heating the house on the principal that once it heats up, you keep the fire going and it constantly puts out radiant heat and they tend to be very efficient. This room also has the same view of the Alps as the outdoor table.
Our other outdoor seating area with a small pond… that I don’t have to take care of!
Entering our master bathroom
The tub and shower in the master bathroom.
Again, the same view as the other seating areas but the Master Bedroom… on this day it was foggy so the mountains aren’t visible. We can also see the cities of Zug and Lucerne from our place.

I just wanted friends and family to see it and I took more photos but forgot my camera in Zurich when I left. Once I download those I’ll do a follow-up post.

Kera is already working and learning the new job. As soon as I get there I’ll get my phone working again (Telekom killed mine as soon as they got my cancellation letter… big surprise). You can see that I still have internet though… strangely. Once our stuff comes I’ll spend my time working on setting up and arranging the apartment. Then, I’ll start the process of finding a job and getting permission to work (yes, you have to do it in reverse). You typically have to find someone willing to hire you and get a contract (everyone has contracts, unlike the States) and with that contract you can generally get permission to work. Since I’ll continue to teach, it shouldn’t be a problem.

Also, have no fear, Spok Werks will be back up and running as soon as possible. I have a number of orders for upcoming races so I will need to get to work pretty quickly. I also need to make bags for my new Edelbikes 29+.

As I mentioned, we’re close to Zug so here’s some information on the city (Click here). Also quite close is Lucerne (info. here) and Basel (info. here) is only an hour or so too.

Published by: wunnspeed

What does one say here. Hmmm. First, I'm a "trailing spouse". Kera, my wife, works hard and keeps us afloat. I work... not nearly as hard and contribute enough to let us have fun. Oh, I also make bags for bikepacking under the name of SpoK Werks I'm an English Teacher (English as a Second Language) here in Germany. It's an amazingly rewarding thing to do. I'd never have believed it until I'd tried it. I also make bikepacking bags under the name SpoK Bags. Just search for us in Flickr. We're adventure nuts (i.e. cycling, travel, life, friends, etc.). We attempt to live each day as fully as we can manage.

Categories Home, life, Mettmenstetten, Switzerland, travel, Zurich1 Comment

One thought on “Finding a home”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s